“But if less is more, how you keepin’ score?”

“There’s those thinkin’ more or less, less is more,
but if less is more, how you keepin’ score?
It means for every point you make, your level drops.
Kinda like you’re startin’ from the top…
and you can’t do that.”

Society, Performed by Eddie Vedder, Into the Wild Soundtrack

-Written by Jerry Hannan

For the last week I have been haunted by those words.  While I have had the Into the Wild Soundtrack for over 2 years now, I have more recently been listening to it a lot.  I guess is comes with the excitement I have for Pearl Jam’s newest album Backspacer.

I find great meaning in the lyrics I quoted above and the lyrics to the entire song.  Since most of my posts convey strong opinions that I have, you might expect I would share my thoughts.  Not this time, at least not yet.  First, I want to hear what those words mean to everyone else.  Specifically, how do you answer the question, “But is less if more, how you keepin’ score?”

For a little inspiration, check out the video below.

3 responses to ““But if less is more, how you keepin’ score?”

  1. I freakin’ love that song, and the entire album for that matter. However, I haven’t decided how to answer the “Society” question just yet. That’s a big one!

    Great to see two more posts up on the ol’ Red Shirt Blog!

  2. The simple answer is i don’t have to keep score 🙂
    I just have to live my life ❤

    Less is more as long as it comes to material stuff.
    When it comes to love i would have to say that more is more 🙂

Leave a Reply

