Welcome to Our Youngest Fan!

KaidinOn July 24th, we welcomed a new Atayne fan into the world – Kaidin.  While I did not make it down to Massachusetts to immediately greet my new nephew, Atayne was absolutely present.  Understanding the true performance of our gear, my brother-in-law Erik sported his long-sleeve top in the delivery room.  Kaidin joins his big sister Kayley as some of the youngest Atayne fans out there.

Kayley in atayneWhile I do not have my own kids yet, I think a lot about the future of Kayley and now Kaidin.  After spending some quality time with them this past weekend, I have started to think about how time flies by.  Before I know it, Kayley will be going into high school and Kaidin into kindergarten.

As I look ahead to when they will take those big steps, I can’t help but think about where Atayne will be.  Especially: what type of impact will we have created? What changes might we inspire?

The answer to those questions is anybody’s guess.  The only thing I can really do is set goals and work to achieve them.  Five years from now, when Kaidin walks into school for the first time and Kayley opens her first high school locker, I can only hope that Atayne has helped to make the world a better place.  These are the gifts I hope to give to Kayley, Kaidin, and all the other little Atayners out there.

  1. Our trash running initiative has helped to change the social norm that it is OK to walk or run past a stray piece of trash.  [As of today, we have progressed beyond the social acceptance of littering.  Now it is time to take the next step.  Everyone can start by picking up the next piece they walk by.  Who knows, you might inspire someone else to do the same.]
  2. Our commitment to using 100% recycled materials has encouraged companies like Nike, Adidas, and Under Armour to up their commitment to using more recycled material.  [While many of these companies today use recycled fabric, in this case, more is definitely better.  Based upon my napkin math, if Atayne and our competitor friends can sell 10 million tops made of 100% recycled fabric (as opposed to virgin polyester) we can prevent nearly 4 million pounds of waste from going into landfills and save the energy equivalent of removing nearly 6,000 cars from the road.]
  3. Atayne is recognized globally as one of the best places to work.  Acknowledgment from Fortune Small Business, Outside Magazine, etc. would be a great way to substantiate the claim.
  4. We will have set-up our own zero waste cutting & sewing facility in Maine bringing much needed jobs to old mill towns like Lewiston and Biddeford.  And by zero-waste we mean every bit of fabric that enters the facility gets used or recycled.
  5. I will have my own son, daughter, or both, for whom I can make new goals.

These are definitely ambitious goals, and many people may not think they are possible.  But as Dr. Seuss told us, “You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself, any direction you choose.”

2 responses to “Welcome to Our Youngest Fan!

  1. I love it! Those are some great goals, especially nos. 3 and 4 🙂

    Congrats on the new nephew!!

  2. I’m so sick and tired of seeing Run Hard. Tread Lightly in my ultra running magazines under the Brooks banner. I’m in a bad mood. Darn corporate raiders…

    Oh, love the post 🙂

Leave a Reply

