Reflections and Lessons from Two Years as an Entrepreneur

Last week someone commented on a blog entry I posted almost a year ago.  Not only did this person’s user name give me a big smile (frankelstache), the comment they left did as well.  “I googled something for a work project and ended up here. Fu&*ing a’, man. Very inspiring and wise words. I know it’s been a year since you wrote this, but I hope things are only looking up.  Good luck.”

I re-read that blog entry and preceded to re-read every post I’ve made in the last year plus of blogging.  It has been two years since the red shirt experience that launched me into the crazy world of entrepreneurship.  Over the past 24 months, I have experienced the highest of highs and the lowest of lows.  I have met many new friends and become even closer to current ones.  And I have most definitely learned a thing or two…or three.  I have learned a lot about starting a company (Lesson #1:  It’s all about cash flow).  But more importantly, I have learned a lot about life.  In looking back on my blog entries, I realized I had many nuggets of wisdom (is that arrogant to deem my own words wise?) hidden in my ramblings.  Here are five of my favorites.

1) Don’t sit around waiting for your real life to begin.  Your real life is now.

2) It is not about what keeps you up at night, it is what gets you out of bed in the morning.

3) A random high 5 can go a long way in someone’s day.

4) When it comes to positive change, the responsibility is all of ours.

5) Regardless of your situation, you can always find a few sources of optimism and things for which to be grateful.

If you have some similar words of wisdom to share, I would love to hear them.

5 responses to “Reflections and Lessons from Two Years as an Entrepreneur

  1. Be relevant
    Have perspective
    Be authentic
    Be conscious / aware

    Great post buddy, love it. I’m proud to have you as a friend.

  2. No joke, Colin Hay’s “Waiting for my real life to begin” came on my iTunes while I read this post. Dude, seriously. It’s amazing how much has happened even in the last year since I’ve known you, and I only really see the tip of the iceberg. You are an incredibly inspiring person and it’s totally contagious. You rock more than the rest 🙂

    I can’t wait for many, many more years of Atayne domination 🙂

  3. A tad of narcissism never hurt anyone…:-)
    Will look into those posts later on…glad I helped…somehow.

  4. am i adding to your “arrogance” by saying that your “many nuggets of wisdom” could actually be put in a book and do really well! 😀 well, maybe not quite a book…but at least a cool bookmarker. 😉

Leave a Reply

