POV (Point of View) Top Version 2.0

Last week I took one of the new Atayne fit samples out for a run.  Not only was this the first run in version 2.0 of our performance tops, it was my first run in several weeks.  I have been struggling with pain in the patella tendon in my left knee.  I have tried a number of things to solve the problem from the standard R.I.C.E. and stretching to ART (Active Release Techniques), foam rolling, and yoga.

Unfortunately, I can’t seem to shake it.  I know I should go see a physical therapist, but as an entrepreneur who has not seen a pay check in 2 years, I do not have extra cash lying around or good health insurance.  (If anyone knows or is a physical therapist in Southern Maine who might want to cut a financially poor, but energetically rich entrepreneur a deal, I would love an intro!)

Anyway, back to test run.  As expected, the fabric was great.  It was comfortable, breathable, and dried very quickly.  While people may question a late April run in Maine as a test for these things, the weather that day proved to be good test conditions.  It was sunny and in the mid-80s F so I was able to get a decent sweat on.

Fabric and fit aside, there are a couple things about version 2.0 of our POV tops that I am especially excited about.

Women's 4Rs POV Top
Women’s 4Rs POV Top

First, we are using a new process for our shirt graphics that will allow us to offer many more designs.  The graphics will span across a range of active pursuits: running, cycling, yoga, mountain biking, hiking, etc.  One thing will remain the same though: staying true to our current 4Rs and RHTL graphics, all designs will express an environmental message while promoting an active lifestyle.  Our opinion is you should promote your values and not a multi-million dollar brand.

Second, our tops will include one of the most innovative developments in environmentally-friendly performance gear.  We call it the loop and it works like this. Play hard.  Rinse top in the shower.  Hang to dry.  Repeat.  Okay, so maybe it is not that innovative, but the simplicity of it is pure genius.  Here is why.

The Loop
The Loop

Studies show that 80% of the energy used by apparel over the course of its life comes from consumer care.   This means that the most effective thing that can be done to reduce the impact of apparel on the environment is to design it to be able to be washed and dried less.  Whether people actually hang the tops from the loop is not necessary.  It is just as effective if it serves as a reminder to hang to dry.  Remember: Don’t be a Dupe, Use the Loop.

Right now we are on schedule to launch Version 2.0 of our POV tops in late August/early September.

On another note, a couple months ago I shared the preliminary designs for our 2009 line .  For those of you who may be wondering about the status of the other items, we have had to delay the launch of our men’s and women’s bottoms.  Unfortunately, the economy made it too risky to invest the money to bring these to market.  If things continue on the current upswing, we hope to be able to launch them in Spring 2010.

If anyone has thoughts about other environmental “innovations” or point of view graphics, I would love to hear them.

9 responses to “POV (Point of View) Top Version 2.0

  1. I love the loop idea. I tend to not want to throw my running clothes in the wash after each run and the loop is exactly what I need to dry out my clothes for reuse.

    I wear my shirt all the time, you make a great product!

  2. Keep it Clean – classic. I want to see this on a shirt soon.

  3. If you have a really old car with a metal antenna you could weave your shirt loop through it and air dry it on the way home 🙂 Instant Atayne flag too – cheap advertising – hehehe

  4. J –

    I would see if there is a sports doctor in your area who is willing to trade his services for your awesome products. There has to be an MD who runs and would be willing to help for a couple shirts. Don’t let the problem get worse, you don’t want to be out of commission for the whole running season! Okay, enough lecturing.

  5. Pingback: The Naked Truth Part I « The Story of a Red Shirt

  6. Pingback: The Point of View is the Point « The Story of a Red Shirt

  7. Pingback: Run with Nature, Not Against It « The Story of a Red Shirt

Leave a Reply

