Top 10 Benefits to Being a Poor Entrepreneur (Especially in a Down Economy)

If I have learned anything from my time as an entrepreneur, it is how to integrate Atayne into nearly any conversation.  Just as it is guaranteed that I will bring the conversation around to Atayne, it is equally assured that someone will eventually say, “Tough time to be starting a company.”

No doubt it is a tough time to be starting a company.  Although, is it ever really easy for the majority of us who are not children of millionaires?

But I don’t like to focus on the negative.  There are many benefits to being a poor entrepreneur, especially in a down economy.  Here is my top 10 list.

10.  Free Beer.  When people find out you recently launched a start-up, they insist on paying when you are out for beers.

9.  Most basement living is rent-free.  Since I started Atayne, I have lived in the basement of three different friends totaling almost 12 months of free rent. (Thank you all!)

8.  There is such a thing as a free lunch.  See number 10 for explanation, substitute lunch for beers.

7.  People send you random gifts.  One of my favorites is banana bread from an Atayne fan in Chicago.

6.  No need to fret on a daily basis about the 50% decline in your retirement portfolio.  Wait, what’s a retirement portfolio?

5.  Working in your pajamas.  No explanation required.

4.  You no longer have to report to that jackass who knows nothing.  You now are the jackass who knows nothing.

3.  It is hard to beat the commute from bedroom to home office, especially on rainy or snowy days.

2.  Free Beer.  It’s a good one and deserves to be mentioned twice.

1.  Zero concern of getting laid off due to corporate “right-sizing.”

For anyone who is inclined to start your own thing, it is never going to be the right time.  The economy may be the excuse now, but fear will always help you find another reason in the future.

“You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You must do the thing which you think you cannot do.”
-Eleanor Roosevelt

So, consider taking that jump; you might find happiness in some unlikely places. After all:

“Happiness is not a goal; it is a by-product.”
-Eleanor Roosevelt

6 responses to “Top 10 Benefits to Being a Poor Entrepreneur (Especially in a Down Economy)

  1. So getting lunch at Java Green was part of the plan all along! 😉 I may have to go independent just for the free beer perk (and the free beer perk).

  2. Ha, love it! You have one of the worst commutes…how do you decide if you’re going to wear socks, slippers or go barefoot when you get out of bed in the morning? That’s a tough choice, and one not to be taken lightly. Perhaps it is dictated by the temperature of the floor upon waking. I’d probably go with the socks.

    I heart this post; makes me want to go out and do something really amazingly awesome that I have been making excuses for lately 🙂

  3. Love it. I should forward your list to my brother who is always talking about wanting to launch a start up, but is always side tracked by… well, really nothing that competes with free beer.

    I’d go with the slippers myself. 🙂

  4. socks…definately the socks…

  5. I love this post! I just left my full time job to run my business, so I’m right there with you….especially the beer! Number 11. Running in the middle of the day if you want; Number 12. No one yelling at you when you screw up; Number 13. No office politics; Number 14 hanging out with my dog

Leave a Reply

